Running in the Texas Heat and Arnold Palmer.

Today the alarm sounded at 6:45 a.m. which is a far better hour than the dreaded 5:00 a.m. alarm that is our wake up call during the school year, so I’ll take it!

After seeing Nathan off to work I took a little stroll with the pup to try and burn off some of her crazy energy that she seems to always have. It was actually nice and cool due to the rain we had last night.

Breakfast + Workout

After heading back home I whipped up my favorite pre-running breakfast. On the menu: whole wheat toast with natural PB and a bit of honey on top with a cup of coffee on the side. Sometimes I will add banana slices to my toast in order to bulk it up a bit, but sadly we’re out of bananas at the moment.

Image

After a quick breakfast I laced up my Saucony running shoes and headed out for a 5 mile run. I was excited about the coolness in the Texas air due to the rain we experienced last night. However, the clouds soon parted and I felt that Texas sun beating down on my shoulders about 2 miles into my run. The loop that I chose to run today is an extremely hilly one which made for an extremely sweaty and grueling run. I cooled down afterwards in the weight room of our apartment complex and busted out a few reps. with some weights and my go to ab routine.

 Afterwards, I came back showered up and got ready to head out to Chick-Fil-A with the youth group for lunch. One perk of living in the south is that there are Chick-Fil-A’s everywhere! Yumm! I ended up ordering the chicken noodle soup and salad combo with an Arnold Palmer to drink. If you’re not familiar with Arnold Palmer’s, they are a half and half combo of sweet tea and lemonade. In my opinion, Chick-Fil-A makes them best! 

Image

Deliciousness in a cup right there.

Now that I’m back home, I’m off to throw some dinner in the crock pot and do some laundry. I know, exciting stuff! I’ll check back in and post the recipe of what ever I end up cooking tonight! 

xoxo

Lauren

Questions for YOU.

Have you ever tried an Arnold Palmer? If so, what did you think? 

What are your favorite pre workout foods?

 

3 thoughts on “Running in the Texas Heat and Arnold Palmer.

  1. I’m drooling as much over your simple breakfast as I do over all of the super ‘foodie’ blog posts. At this moment, I’m going through all of the WordPress blogs that have the tag ‘peanut butter’ because I’m in Ecuador all summer and have been without good ol’ PB for six weeks now (and have another month left!). That is literally all I want in the world right now–enjoy your whole wheat (yet another staple I’m yearning for!), PB, and honey . . . YUM.

Leave a Reply

