Just a Few Recipes

First off, I feel that I should start this post with just a few things you should know about me.

1. I LOVE coffee, just love the stuff. The stronger it is, the better it tastes in my opinion.

 

2. Reading mystery novels is a favorite past time of mine. I love getting lost in a good book! During the school year it is hard to find the extra time, but this summer I’ve already read my fair share.

 

3. My husband Nathan and I try to have a date night at least once a week. Life can get crazy and pull you every which way and setting aside that time together can help you refocus on each other. Monday is our typical evening, unless something comes up. Our dates don’t always involve going out and spending money either. Sometimes we will just cook together, listen to music, and head to the pool for an evening swim. I’m all about saving money over here! 😉

Image

Okay, on to the food!

Dinner last night ended up being a hit! I used this recipe from Pinterest and tweaked it to make it healthier.

-Instead of a whole stick of butter I used about ¼ of a stick.

-I also used more lemon than it called for; I am a huge fan of citrus.

-I sliced up a zucchini squash and added it to the baking sheet as well.

-I cooked up some brown rice and served the shrimp/zucchini combo over top.

Image

(before it went into the oven)

It was oh so delicious! Nathan even went back for seconds, success!

 

I also whipped up a batch of banana chocolate chip muffins this morning.

Image

 Image

They are good for you and tasty, I’m eating one now as I type.

Recipe:

1 egg

11/4 cup of skim milk

3 cups of Heart Smart Bisquick 

3 smashed bananas

1 tsp. vanilla

1 tbs honey

1 cup of Hershey Semi-Sweet chips

Bon Appetit!

I am off to run some errands and tutor some upcoming First graders at the local library before our youth group time tonight!

 

Image

Before I sign off, I’ve gotta give a shout out to my beautiful sister Lindsay! It’s her 21st birthday today and I am so proud of the wonderful person she’s grown into!  Wish I could be there to celebrate with you! I love you Linds!! xoxo

 

 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Just a Few Recipes

Leave a Reply

