The Weekend in Review

Hello, I hope everyone had a great weekend! 

Friday, Nathan and I met with our small group for dinner and to discuss the next Dave Ramsey FPU video. It was nice to relax with good friends and good food.

Living life on our new budget has become somewhat of a fun challenge for me. I have enjoyed seeing what healthy dishes I can create while still keeping the cost low. Don’t get me wrong there are times when I really want to splurge and buy the fancy cheeses, prime cuts of meat, and all organic foods, but I know that in the long run I will be thankful for this budget. 😉

Yesterday after a youth meeting up at the church, my friend Jenny and I headed out to the Guadalupe River for a “ladies only” event hosted by our sister church.

Image

 

The venue was gorgeous and the food was great. We spent most of the afternoon lounging in the water and catching up with some incredible women of faith.

Image

 

Image

 

(my girl Jenny and I)

Image

 

*my lunch!

On the way home, Jenny and I swung by a local meat market to get some of their famous smoked sausage. I got some of the mild sausage for Nathan as well as some tamales for dinner.

Image

 

*Growing up my dad always had these tamales shipped in from Texas, so they remind me of him!

This morning I went for a run before church and saw this guy.

Image

 

*My first official coyote sighting.

I decided to run sans music this morning and I’m so glad that I did. Sometimes I find that I need to just unplug and take in God’s beautiful creation that I so often don’t take the time to appreciate.

Image

 

*Picture from my run

For dinner this evening I made my own version of the Chipotle burrito bowl. I started making these a while ago and Nathan loves them.

 Image

The bowl was my dinner and Nathan opted for his in actual burrito form. 🙂

 Image

Image

 

This meal is always keeps me feeling full and energized. It’s packed with protein and also easy to make!

In the mix:

cilantro lime brown rice: brown rice*lime juice to taste*cilantro* black beans

First, I cook up about three chicken breasts in olive oil and a dash of Frank’s Red hot sauce.

Then, I add the cilantro lime rice, chicken, spinach, a dollop of fat free Greek yogurt, and avocado slices together in a bowl or tortilla. ( I always add more Frank’s to mine, I love the stuff!)

Easy!

Have a great evening!

xoxo

Lauren

One thought on “The Weekend in Review

  1. I am seriously so obsessed with your blog! I love knowing what u have been up to when you are so far away! I am also writing Down recipes! You should write a grocery list of what u usually stock ur kitchen with 🙂

    Ur wonderful!

Leave a Reply

