Back in the Swing of Things

It’s official, school’s back in session for this teacher. I’ve got day two under my belt and I’m loving my 13 little students! (Pics. to come)

Image

Here are some pictures of my finished first grade classroom!

Image

Image
These bulletin boards close on the weekends for church functions.

Image

Image

Image

Because the private school I teach at is in a church, my classroom doubles as a Sunday school room on weekends, Which means I get to tear down and put away all school related items EVERY Friday before I leave and then set up every Monday morning.  It sounds worse than it actually is, but that explains why I don’t have anything permanent on the walls of the classroom. 🙂

Every day before school, Nathan, Brandy, and I have been getting up at the lovely hour of 5 a.m. to fit in an early morning run and workout. I’ve gotta give a shout out to Nathan here because he does not in any way love to run. He’s more of a football, basketball, baseball kinda guy. He gets most of his exercise from the sports that he plays so often. He gets up with me to spend time together before our days start and the business of life pulls us in our different directions. He’s great 😉 

On the food front, here’s what’s been cooking in my kitchen lately…

Image
Chicken sausage with Poblano peppers and cheese atop whole wheat pasta
Image
Homemade chili with ground turkey, kidney beans, and black beans.

Image

Image

Oh wait, I didn’t make those last ones? darn.

Sunday Nathan and I got lunch at Chuy’s. All I really wanted was their famous chips and salsa, it’s heavenly!  Craving satisfied.

It’s been so good to get back into teaching and doing what I love. I’m totally remembering how exhausting it is, but it’s all so incredibly worth the sore feet, tired voice, and zero energy at the end of the day.

Well, I’m off to spend some time with the hubs before bed! 

I’ll check back in soon!

-Lauren

 

Leave a Reply

