The Big Move and First House Guests

Well hi there, remember me? I know, I know, it’s been a long while.

Life around here has been non stop with moving into our new home, unpacking, cleaning, organizing, small groups, work, getting ready for family to visit this Thursday…need I go on?

Here is a shot from our first morning in the new house. We had doughnuts, coffee, and milk, breakfast of champions. We used a chair for a table naturally.

Image

You know I had to go find/test out any nearby running trails, and I’m happy to report there are some great ones nearby with just ONE drawback….the deer. I’m not kidding when I say that I see probably more than 30 deer every time I run now. Also, they are not scared of me, they will walk right in front of me with no hesitation. Now, I can appreciate wildlife but it does freak me out that one of the big bucks might decide to just trample me one day.

Image

I’m Happy to report that Brandy is loving her new home, and spying on the neighbors…;)

Image

And here she is creeping again…Nathan and I have to laugh every time she sits up there like a little spy.

Image

Nathan and I decided to go out for some celebratory pancakes the day we closed on our house, which led us here to Magnolia Pancake Haus. I’m not exaggerating even a tiny bit when I say they were the best pancakes I’ve had in my whole life. Paired with the goat cheese, arugula, and apple wood smoked bacon omelette, I was so sad I hadn’t tried this place sooner! It’s totally in the top 5 on my favorite restaurant list now.

Image

The atmosphere is super cute as well. I think my grandma had some of those old glass plates like the ones behind Nathan.

Image

I’m a happy camper in this pic…told you the food was THAT good 😉

Image

Every day on the way to church Nathan and I drive past a field of cattle and one giant long horn that is never close enough to the fence to get a picture, well yesterday was my lucky day 😉 He was up close and personal…a little too close for comfort actually I was pretty nervous turning my back to him for the picture, as you can see by my expression! Ha!

Image

Don’t Mess with Texas people.

Image

Well, having today off from teaching allowed for a super productive day and I was able to finish up the last of our unpacking, woohoo! I discovered an untapped love I have for mopping our hardwood floors today as well! We are having family visit this weekend so I am prepping the house for our first ever house guests! My parents are flying in from Ohio and my aunt and uncle are coming from Arizona. It’s such a special occasion to see family when you live so darn far away from them!

Have a great week, and Happy Veteran’s day!

Thank you to all who have served and are serving!!

One thought on “The Big Move and First House Guests

  1. Love the Brandy creeping picture haha! So glad that you guys are getting settled in there. Wish I was coming with Mom & Dad but I know you guys will have a great time. Can’t wait to see you for Christmas!

Leave a Reply

