Meal Planning & Ice Storms

Happy Saturday!

Today has been quite an ideal Saturday. It’s been a nice combination of productivity and leisure. Nathan and I spent our morning planning our 2 year anniversary trip we’re taking this June! It’s so much fun vacationing together and looking ahead!

photo 208

I slept in until the lovely hour of 9 am, which is a rarity for me, so I must have needed it. Yesterday school was canceled due to an ice storm. However, us teachers were still asked to come in for a work day 😦 sad.

Here are some cool ice pictures.

Today however, the weather has been just gorgeous. I thoroughly enjoyed running in the 60* weather. 😉 This time of year with the cooler temperature is usually when I work on speeding up my pace. In the torturous summer heat, I loose quite a bit of speed, so I wait for the cooler weather to focus on it. I have been keeping my pace at an 8 minute mile consistently.

On a completely random note, I found the ultimate chocolate chip cookie recipe! This is a big deal, because every time I would attempt making choc. chip cookies, Nathan would eat like a couple but always preferred the Pillsbury. So, what did I do? I Googled “the best chocolate chip cookie recipe” and there it was!

So naturally I brought some to share with my little buddies in the First grade. 😉

Image

And….this was last night’s desert.

Image

In other news, this salad is a favorite of mine lately. I am in love with Frank’s Red Hot which completely makes this buffalo chicken salad. I must tell you that Nathan has eaten TWO salads in his life. two. Both of which were this salad below.

Image

Buffalo Chicken Salad

So simple to make. Buffalo chicken salad: A plate full of greens*grilled chicken*veggies of your choice* homemade buttermilk ranch dressing (using light mayo)* Franks Red Hot* mix 1 tbs. of ranch dressing with 1 tbs. of Red Hot and pour it on top!

There ya have it!

I have gotten a few requests to post my grocery lists/meal plans. Yes, I am a meal planner, it saves some serious time having all of our ingredients and meals prepped and ready to go for the week.  Here’s what meals I have planned for this week!

Monday: White Chicken Enchiladas

Tuesday: Lightened up Chicken Alfredo

Wednesday: Breakfast for dinner-pancakes and eggs

Thursday:Baked Lemon Chicken with Zucchini

Friday: Chipotle Copycat Burrito Bowls

Saturday: Out to dinner

Sunday: Zesty Crock Pot Chicken

Well, Nathan and I are brainstorming where we should go for dinner tonight!

Enjoy your evening,

Lauren

Leave a Reply

