What’s Been Happening Lately

Isn’t it amazing how quickly time passes? Last time I sat down to type a blog post it was July, and now here we are on the last day of August.

First day back to teaching after a glorious summer break!

First day back to teaching after a glorious summer break!

The end of summer is an extremely busy season for Nathan and I. Since my last post we’ve had a week of summer camp, my family here for a vacation, two weeks of teacher in-service, school starting up, Nathan preaching in main service, staff retreats, youth events, and last week my good friend lost her dad unexpectedly. I feel as though I’m just starting to slow down and reflect on all that the month of August entailed.

Summer Camp-2014-Thirst

Summer Camp-2014-Thirst

Sisters! <3

Sisters! ❤

We showed the family some of our newer favorite restaurants.

We showed the family some of our newer favorite restaurants.

Hanging out at the pool and play some tennis matches.

Hanging out at the pool and play some tennis matches.

Family iron chef competition. Guess who won it all? ;)

Family iron chef competition. The secret ingredient was peanut butter. Guess who won it all? 😉

Early morning runs starting back up and a side of lesson planning ;)

Early morning runs starting back up and a side of lesson planning.

Before heading off to church this morning to hear my wonderful husband being the Word, I got in a 3 mile run and core work, then hopped down to the kitchen to create a crock pot meal that I could have ready to go by the time we get in the door this afternoon. After going over all of my options (we need groceries so bad) I realized that I had all the fixings for some turkey chili with zucchini and quickly whipped up some cheddar bay biscuits to pair with the chili. This meal has autumn written all over it which is ironic because it feels nothing like fall here in TX with our 100* days we’ve been having. 😉

Slow cooker Turkey Chili served with Cheddar Bay Biscuits.

Slow cooker Turkey Chili served with Cheddar Bay Biscuits.

So tomorrow for Labor Day, we’ve been throwing around the idea of hitting up a nearby water park or another appealing suggestion of having a lazy day at the house and staying in our jammies all day, which after the few weeks we’ve had may just be the smarter choice. Either way, I plan to get in that morning run/workout and keep on trucking  in my health and fitness journey! I’m doing great lately and have a new found love for salads which I believe have contributed to me loosing about 5 lbs. and being able to keep it off too. 

Well, I’m off to run some errands and then relax with Nathan and Brandy. Enjoy your Sunday!

Lauren ❤

 

One thought on “What’s Been Happening Lately

Leave a Reply

