Glazed Donut Bacon Cheeseburgers & Getting Enough Protein

It’s a cold and dreary Sunday here in S.A. but a great weekend none the less! I logged some rainy miles with the pup yesterday afternoon, spent some time working on household projects, and we booked a little getaway for next weekend! 

We have one more week until Spring Break and my to-do list is forever long. I plan to get the majority of my spring cleaning done that week and we’re talking deeeeep clean. Is it wierd that I’m so excited to clean, organize, and paint? probably. 😉

Since we last talked, Winter Camp has passed which was a great and surprisingly warm weekend! We had 87 campers and smooth sailing (other than the fact that Nathan and I left our sleeping bags in the trunk of our car at the church) .



*Scenes from Winter camp 2015.

Nathan and I also went to the San Antonio Rodeo for the first time ever since living here. It was quite the crowd of cowboys and cowgirls. 



*Nathan couldn’t resist the glazed donut bacon cheeseburger!



We had a great time walking around the stock show looking at all the neat animals and checking out the delicious fried fair foods before the rodeo began. I used to go to the rodeo every year with my highschool friends and this one brought back great memories. 🙂

Last week for date night, we went to one of our favorite sushi spots, Wasabi.



Having a date night once a week really helps us keep the focus on eachother and what really matters in this busy life. I know most people hate Mondays but I always look forward to them, knowing I’ve got a date with my man each week helps.

In an effort to get more protein into my diet, I’ve been requesting more grilled steaks lately. I have been trying to track my macronutrients (carbs, fats, and protein) via myfitnesspal and have realized that I don’t eat nearly enough protein each day.



 I am not a huge fan of red meat typically, so I’ve been stocking the fridge with chicken, turkey, black beans, and fish. It is still a battle to get enough protein so I am tossing around the idea of looking into different protein powders to mix into my smoothies or as a post-workout drink. I’ll keep you posted!

Here are some scenes from runs lately.



You just cannot beat the gorgeous weather we are having this winter (other than this weekend). I am still trying to convince my family to move out of their snowglobe and down South to the warmth. 😉

Well, Im going to get suited up for a cold rainy run with the dog. I’m glad one of us is so excited about it 😉 After church, I plan to work on a fun entryway project and make some chicken tortilla soup! 

Have a great Sunday!

Lauren ❤

Leave a Reply

