Summer 2015 Memories

Well, today marked my first day of the school year and the ending of a glorious summer vacation. Last night Nathan and I had a romantic dinner at home where we whipped up some homemade pasta with alfredo sauce and reminisced about some of our favoite summer 2015 memories. We’ve had about 6 weeks of house guests and my heart is beyond full.  

A few weeks back I was graced with the wonderful visit of my best friend Faith! Later that week, my in-laws flew in   for a week to hear Nathan preach in the main service for his second time ( He killed it). We made a trip the the delicious Gristmill restaurant located in the quaint little town of Gruene.

   
   
 So thankful for some bestfriend time!

   
 
Faith and I ventured all over San Antonio during her stay. I love having a friend around who is also passionate about healthy living and was excited to wake up and run, bike, and do pilates in the mornings with me!  

A few weeks ago as I was wandering aimlessly around a thrift store that I coerced Nathan to go to with me in hopes of finding an inspiring piece of furniture to add to our home, I stumbled upon this chair and knew instantly that I wanted it in my living room, I had a vision! So, Faith and my sister Annie helped with painting and it was a successfull DIY flip. I love it in our living room right now. I ‘m all about the clean white look in our living room right now. 

    
  The finished product, LOVE!  
 

While Faith was in town visiting we had fun getting dressed up and trying out different restaurants  each night, it felt like college all over again, hitting the town with my bestie. 

    
We also did the whole touristy thing and ate and shopped at the River Walk . 

    Nathan joined us for Cheesecake Factory one evening as well ❤
 
We went out on a limb and tried a new to us sushi place one afternoon after spending all morning at the zoo. However, it was far from what I think a sushi restaurant should be like in terms of quality of food, service, and atmosphere. Two thumbs down. 

   
 You can never go wrong at good old Fish City Grill, however. We split the Alaskan crab and it was darn tasty!

  
   
From the Khaiak adventures and  Anne of Green Gables movies, to our morning devotion time spent in prayer. I am truly blessed to have a friend like her!

Now, fast forward to last week and my whole family including aunt from Arizona came to stay for the week! I sure am blessed that God gave us a big house because everyone was able to have a comfortable place to sleep, all 9 of us! 

My youngest sister Annie was able to come down a week before the others and we got some one-on-one time with her before she leaves for college this fall. We of course played some mini golf. 😉

  
We also made a trip to Top Golf which is a cool new type of golfing that is becoming more and more popular in Texas. You aim the ball at the different colored nets placed on the course. You don’t have to be good at golf to have fun playing Top Golf. 

    
Finally, the family arrives and it is so good to catch up and see their wonderful faces!

 We ended up taking the whole crew to Top Golf as well because we had so much fun there we thought they would as well, and we were right they loved it. You can even order from their menues and eat while you play which we took advantage of. The food was great and the company was even better.

   
    
    My studly golfer ❤
    
Mom was really pumped about golfing, and she did so well beating all of us girls!

 One of the evenings we did a big BBQ and the ladies prepped all the food and the men grilled. We made Kabobs and bratwursts, the tastes of sumer.

   
We were able to get a family pass to the local YMCA for the week where we swam,played tennis, and basketball. This helped balance out all of our yummmy eats 😉

 My beautiful Aunt ❤

   
  
 
Overall, this summer was wonderful and I am excited to see what God has ahead for me this coming school year. Fall is my favorite season and there is so much to look forward to from cooler weather, to holidays, tiny new First graders, to football games. 

Have a wonderful week!

Lauren ❤

Leave a Reply

