Canceled Plans:

Last weekend Nathan’s brother Robby flew in for a quick visit! We took him to our favorite breakfast spot in the city, Magnolia Pancake Haus. Two of my youth girls wanted to get breakfast that morning, so we turned it into a group event. I had the most delicious omelette filled with goat cheese, spinach, and applewood smoked bacon accompanied by a side of gluten free buckwheat pancakes. We all left stuffed!   I love these girls!
 Nathan and I and one of our good friends went out for endless appetizers Wednesday night after youth. I ordered a mango smoothie and we had lots of unhealthy but delicious plates come out. It was a fun night!


Our local grocery store sells ready to pop in the oven salmon dishes, so I picked one up to try for dinner the other night and it was fabulous. Salmon is so good for you and I love broccoli, so it was a win win. I will be getting more of these in the near future.  
 In honor of Dr. Seuss’s birthday week, we celebrated with green eggs and ham this week. I love seeing my students reaction to the bright green eggs when I hand them a plate, but they were good sports and I think everyone at least tried them.   
The second grade teacher and I tried to get creative and decorate our classroom doors like Thing one and Thing two. I’d say they turned alright. The kids LOVED the doors on Monday morning, so it was a success. πŸ˜‰


 Yesterday was the last day of school before Spring Break, which I am officially on as of this morning!  Upon arriving home from school yesterday afternoon, I was so exhausted that I fell asleep until dinner time. Once I woke up I was starving and when Nathan suggest Papoulis, I was sold. We went out to dinner where I ordered the best hummus and Greek salad followed by a trip to pick up some icecream to make milkshakes at home. We made milkshakes and watched movies last night, such a great start to SB. 

 
  
We woke up early this Saturday morning to to get some lab work done at my doctor when we got there and realized it was closed, even though it said it was open online. I was bummed that we had driven all the way downtown for nothing, and I still hadn’t had any coffee or breakfast yet since I was supposed to fast. We quickly realized that the Farmers Market at the Pearl was opened and made our way over. The Pearl was bustling and the weather was just gorgeous so we were thankful for the change in plans. πŸ™‚
  

After walking around to all the different vendors, we found a cute little coffee shop and I ordered a latte.  
    

Thankful for a leisurely Saturday spent with my man ❀

   
Once I got my coffee and took a sip, I was blown away by the smoothness and bold espresso flavor of the latte. This is probably the best latte I’ve ever had, and I’ve had lots of them. 

Our growling bellies led us to a nearby crepe stand that advertised all gluten free batter. I ordered the traditional crepe with ham, egg, and cheese, while Nathan opted for the chicken Capri with chicken, tomatoe, spinach, pesto, and motzerella.     
We took our number and sat down to drink our coffee and wait for our crepes. It was so fun to watch all the people and so many cute dogs pass by, it made me wish we had brought Brandy with us. 

  
Once our crepes were up, we picked a cute little table in the shade to sit and eat. The crepes were delicious and I told Nathan that I think this needs to become a Saturday morning tradition.   

Well, my mom is flying in tomorrow for the week and I couldn’t be more excited! I’ve got some cleaning to do and groceries to get, but first some disc golf is in order. 

Have a great day!

Lauren ❀ 

One thought on “Canceled Plans:

Leave a Reply

