Our Gender Reveal & 26th Birthday in Chicago

We are well into September and I’ve got some major life updates to share! 

In the past few weeks I have gotten a teaching job at a wonderful elementary school in the area! Last week was my first full week and I am in love with the staff and darling 5-6th grade students ( mostly Amish). Nathan and I took a date day to celebrate our new jobs and do some shopping too! We ended up at our old stomping grounds, the Mishawaka river walk, mall, and Flat Top grill for some delicious stir fry.


So many miles run down at this river walk, I can’t wait for more runs here!

That weekend we headed to my parents house in Ohio for family birthday parties and our gender reveal party! Nathan’s mom made these adorable cupcakes from a pin I sent her on Pinterest. How cute?!

We did our best to wear pink and blue as we had guests show up wearing the color of the gender they thought it would be. Nathan and I still didn’t know the gender at this point and were anxiously awaiting the big moment.

We decided to order exploding golf balls online that Nathan would hit for the reveal. One person knew the gender and teed up the correct colored golf ball….then everyone gathered around while Nathan swung!

It’s a …..BOY! I was so shocked I thought for sure we were having a girl. We are beyond thrilled about our little love that will make his big appearance in January!


The next week was my birthday! Hello, 26! I asked for these Hunter rain boots that I’ve been eyeing, and I got them! 

Since my actual birthday was such a busy day and we had a youth event that night until very late, we decided to celebrate on Saturday with a trip to the Windy City! Faith and Bud were able to join us for my birthday in Chicago, it was a blast!

First stop….Garret’s popcorn!

Armed with our buttery delicious popcorn, we were ready to see the sights and shop! Unfortunately it down poured which sent us hurrying to Giordanos for an early lunch.

Faith and I started with salad while we all waited for our pepperoni deep dish to come out. This pizza is the best pizza in the world. I’ve now got Nathan hooked on this pizza too, too bad it’s only in Chicago.


By the time we finished lunch, the rain had stopped and it was a beautiful day to shop! We shopped, snacked, and took in the sights of this gorgeous city. We stopped at the beach to get some photos with the skyline in the background.

We are so thankful to be closer to friends and family now!

Faith snapped this picture of my tasty decaf latte, it was just what I needed after tons of walking.

Before we called it a day, we all decided on dinner at the Cheesecake Factory. Dinner was great but the company was better. I’m so thankful for all the love in my life and I’m excited for this next year!


We made an offer on a house and it was accepted so we are going through the process of buying the house and hopefully moving as soon as possible. I’m just amazed by God and his perfect timing through this whole transition. We now have great jobs that we just love, a house in the works, a healthy baby on the way, and we even bought a new Dodge Journey for my mommy days. 

I logged some miles this morning and felt great running, now I’m off to read a good book on this dreary afternoon!

Have a great week!

❤ lauren

Leave a Reply

