Mother’s Day, Memorial Day, and Marathons:

June 3rd Faith and I ran the Sunburst half marathon together! Nathan, Graham, and I drove up to their house the evening before to have dinner and spend the night at their house. Faith and I got up bright and early for our 6:30 start time. Fueled by my trusty race breakfast of whole grain toast and PB, we drove to South Bend, IN where the race would start.

Faith was a doll and stuck with me through the entire race even though she could have easily left me in her dust. I kept my pace around a ten minute mile and was content with that pace for where I’m at in life. Running is still a big passion of mine, but it has definitely taken a backseat to being a mommy. It’s amazing how motherhood changes your perspective on things you used to think were so important and makes life so much more rewarding than anything else used to. 

got to see my two men at the finish line! I’m so thankful for such a supportive husband.

We were starving for lunch and a cheeseburger and milkshake sounded delightful after running for 13.1 miles. It hit the spot!

Sweet little Graham is growing so much. We are so smitten and in awe of our boy. We’ve been enjoying outdoor time lately. Nathan has been biking with me during some long runs. We’ve even opened up our pool and are gearing up for a fun summer in the pool!On Mother’s Day we got to dedicate Graham back to the Lord. I couldn’t think of a better way to spend my first Mother’s Day. This day last year we found out I was pregnant after a long hard year. Our friends and family came to support and witness the baby dedication too.

After church, Nathan made us reservations for a Mother’s Day brunch at the Lerner Theatre. We loved the brunch! The food was excellent and they had everything from prime rib and salmon to mimosas and an omelette station.The Friday before Mother’s Day my boys surprised Me at school. They were waiting at the entrance of the school with this sweet little balloon tied to Graham’s wrist. Some of the staff and students got to meet Graham. Then we headed off for pretzels, shopping, and dinner in Shipshewana.


I made these for my students and had pizza parties with my reading groups to end the year. I’m really loving being an interventionist!

Both families came together for a Memorial Day cookout at my inlaw’s house. The food was amazing and we took some festive pics while we waited for the food to be ready.

 

Summer 2017 is shaping up to be a blast. Our 5th year anniversary is Friday and we’re off to Chicago! 

Catch ya later!

Lauren ❤

Leave a Reply

